Beauty, Events, Family Portraits, Immediate Family, Life, Love, Photography, Portraits, Uncategorized, Weddings

Jonathan and Terri’s Wedding

IMG_4584 seven

There is something truly awesome as a professional photographer when a family member calls you up and asks you to cover an event for them.  Especially a wedding.  Maybe it’s validation that people you love most think you do good work?  I’m not sure but I always love it.  It is awesome and terrifying.  Terrifying in the sense that if you screw it up, you’re going to hear about it for the rest of your life.  Don’t get me wrong.  I have the most loving and forgiving family on the face of this earth.  You just don’t want to be that person at family get togethers that people avoid talking about certain subjects with, awkward.  So when my cousin Jonathan called me up and asked if I would photograph his wedding I was both thrilled and a little anxious.

IMG_4672 blush

After my first via phone client meeting with Jonathan and Terri though, I knew I had nothing to fear.  Not only did I have nothing to fear but I had a lot to look forward to.  These two planned a beautiful, intimate, and unconventional wedding down to the tiny details.  Each song, reading, and inscription was saturated with personal and family history from them reading emails to each other from when they first started dating to the wedding photos of grandparents on the mantle.

IMG_5190 bw

They also chose a fantastic venue at Main Street Station, in Richmond VA.  This historic building brought early 20th century elegance and grandeur to the celebration.  And really excited giggles from me!  Seriously.  I was like a kid in a candy shop when Jonathan took me down to the station the day of to take a look around.  Every corner was a great photographing opportunity.  I think we both said, “This is awesome!” about 20 different times.

IMG_4068 fam

I loved getting to know Terri better and am simply thrilled at this addition to our family!  Her laid back and kind hearted nature is a perfect compliment to Jonathan.  And can we say gorgeous?  Her love of art, history, and music just makes her cool.  What other way can you say it?  When she walked down the aisle to Cat Power’s “I Found a Reason” with her Dad.  I was definitely tearing up behind my camera.   She’s a cool gal and I’m so glad I got to spend time with her on her big day.

IMG_4715 eleg

I also got to spend a lot of time with this lucky guy.  Jonathan has always had a passion for music since we were little.  He was in the band in high school and college.  He introduced me to Pearl Jam when I first was getting into music.  He brought that passion for music into the day by bringing his own favorites and perfectly timing each change with music.  For such a long time in my life he was part of the cooler older cousin group that I admired so much.  So at his wedding, it was a really amazing gift to have time to sit down and talk to each other now that we are older and share more of the same experiences and reconnect our friendship.  One of my favorite moments from the day is when he and Terri shared personal emails from their early dating experience.  This was such an intimate look into their relationship and I admired and loved that they shared that with everyone.  At that moment especially, the power of their love for each other could knock you down.

IMG_4645 seven

Congrats Jonathan and Terri!  I am so honored to have you both in my family.  Thank you for giving me the opportunity to capture this amazing day with you.  My favorite part by far was getting to know you both better as a couple and talking and laughing with you.  You guys are amazing.

Leave a Reply

