Baking, Cooking, Deep South, Knoxville, Life, Love, Personal, Photography, Recipes

Pie #1: Peaches and Blueberry with a Cobbler Topping

IMG_8338

As some of you may recall I am attempting a Great Pie Experiment.  What better day to get experimenting with a summer fruit pie than the 4th of July?  I was looking for something sweet but summery that I could share with others to celebrate our nations birthday.  After flipping through the pages of Ken Haedrich’s Pie Book for awhile I came across this recipe for Peach and Blueberry pie with a Cobbler Topping.  It sounded perfect, and better yet, I had all the ingredients.

Before we go any further let me reiterate that I am not getting paid to review or talk about this book.  A friend had it and loved it, so I thought I would give it a try.  I am in no way shape or form claiming these recipes as my own, just trying them out and giving tips along the way.  It’s all for funsies folks, so let’s continue.

IMG_8336

Mmmm doesn’t that just look amazing?  For starters, definitely read the section in the beginning explaining the different “things to know” in the book.  Super helpful and although I am usually tempted to skip sections like that, turns out the author did put them there for a reason.  He gave excellent tips on the homemade crust recipes in particular.  I’ve done homemade crusts before and I was like, “I’ve go this.”  But there is a lot I don’t know about crusts apparently.  The crust in the picture above is my second attempt and I thought it turned out pretty well.  I do love that Haedrich doesn’t turn his nose up at store bought crusts.  He actually gives you a bunch of tips on using those as well.  I dig it.

A couple notes on the above pie.  It was well received by all and my not really impartial judges gave it two thumbs up.   However I thought a few changes could have been made. #1 Should have gotten better fruit.  Summer fruit pies are well, all about the FRUIT.  However, the fruit I had picked up turned out just not stellar.  So next time, hitting up the farmers market or the fruit stand.  #2 The recipe calls for a little bit of nutmeg and for some reason I was craving just a tad more in there.  #3 If a pie has a cobbler topping, is it a cobbler or is it a Pie?  Deep words to ponder this morning.  Maybe it’s a Pobbler?

All in all I really enjoyed making this first pie and feel like I have a better handle on the basic crust recipe.  Would I make it again, absolutely!  And probably will with better ingredients.  Stay tuned for the next pie!

IMG_8339

2 thoughts on “Pie #1: Peaches and Blueberry with a Cobbler Topping

  1. it WAS yummy “mom”!!! We were so blessed that Beth chose to bring it to our house! 🙂 Hope we can be part of the next experiment!! 🙂 And the pie looks awesome on your J23 butcher block table, btw 🙂

Leave a Reply

