Cooking, Home, Knoxville, Photography, Recipes

Dish-o-the-Week: Thai Coconut Soup

coconut02

 

Finally!  Another dish of the week.  I am sorry I have neglected trying out new recipes for so long!  But it’s been busy around here and any cooking has been pretty rushed.  But here we are!

coconut05

 

I found this recipe on Our Best Bites and they are right, it is a great quick, easy and delicious recipe!  Here’s what you will need for this meal: chicken, olive oil, jalapeno, ginger, chicken broth, one can coconut milk, salt, two packages ramen noodles, sliced mushrooms, lime juice, and fresh cilantro.

coconut04

 

I did things a little differently than on Our Best Bites.  I started off by adding some oil to a dutch oven or large pot and sauteing the chicken until golden.  I then add one chopped jalapeno and one and a half teaspoons ground ginger.  I like to put a lot of mushrooms in the soup so I add 32 oz of chicken broth to the soup and then one can of coconut milk.

coconut03

 

Add 1/2 teaspoon of salt and as many sliced mushrooms as you would like.  Add in just the noodles from two packages of ramen noodles.  Finally add in as much cilantro as  you would like and 1 1/2 tablespoons of lime juice.

coconut01

 

Let simmer long enough to get heated through and for the flavors to mix.  This soup is fresh, different, and delicious.  It has quickly become one of my favorites.  I hope you enjoy!  And check out Our Best Bites for more delicious recipes.

Leave a Reply

