Cooking, Food, Home, Life, Love, Personal, Photography, Recipes, Uncategorized

Dish-o-the-Week: Steamed Dumplings

I know that these little guys just look like lumps in this picture but I promise they are really good.  They are surprisingly easy, although they do take a little bit of time just to assemble.  But they are well worth the effort.  Steamed dumplings are one of our favorite things to get when we eat out and it was nice to make them at home!

I got this recipe on Pinterest from HERE.  You’re going to hear that a lot because that is where I get a lot of my recipes from these days!  But I digress.  Back to these yummy dumplings.  Here’s what  you’re going to need: 1 cup finely shredded bok choy or napa cabbage (optional, I did not add this), 1/4 tsp. salt, 1 lb. lean ground pork, 2 green onions, finely chopped (Speed Racer is not a big onion fan so I left these out), 1 Tbsp. soy sauce (or to taste), 1-2 cloves garlic, crushed, 1 tsp. grated fresh ginger ( I forgot to pick up ginger so I used about 1/4 tsp of dried but I’m sure fresh is better), 1/2 tsp. sugar, 1 tsp. sesame oil, 1 pkg. wonton or gyoza wrappers, thawed if frozen, canola oil, chicken or veggie stock, or water (I used water).

So I started by mixing the salt, park, soy sauce, garlic, ginger, sugar and sesame oil together in a bowl.  Mush it together with you hands and giggle because mushing things is just fun and funny.  Once it’s all mixed together get out your wonton wrappers and place a small scoop of the meat mixture in each wrapper.  See the wrapper package for proper folding instructions.  Have a small glass of water handy to help seal your wontons.  (As a side note: You want to be careful to not have too much air in there or it will fall apart.  Mine didn’t fall apart but I did have a lot of air in them).  Once folded press the bottom onto a cookie sheet or cutting board (wherever you are keeping them) to help flatten them.  Lay a tea towel over them as you go to keep them from drying out.

Once you have them all wrapped up, drizzle some canola oil into your skillet and add a few at a time.  You want to let them fry for about 1 minute until the bottoms are golden.  Once your 1 minute is up, pour 1/4 cup chicken stock or water into the pan and cover.  Reduce your heat to medium (instead of medium high) and let steam for about 5 minutes.  Repeat until they are all tasty and ready to go!

You can also make a dipping sauce to go with them.  I used soy sauce, brown sugar, red pepper flakes, and chili powder and just added the ingredients to taste.

A few notes here before I let you get cookin’!  First, the main reason this took me awhile to make was my skillet that actually has a top is a little small, so if you have a larger skillet with a top, definitely use the biggest one you have.  You might be able to do it half and half if you have a big skillet.  Second, the meat mixture in mine turned out a little dry.  I’m not completely sure why but I am thinking of either adding a little more soy sauce next time or keeping them a little better wrapped in the tea towel.  It could have also been the meat I purchased but it’s hard to tell.  Just a heads up, enjoy!

One thought on “Dish-o-the-Week: Steamed Dumplings

Leave a Reply

