Cooking, Food, Home, Life, Personal

Dish-o-the-Week: Southwest Egg Rolls

Photo from www.cakeandallie.com

Dish-o-the-Week!  Egg Rolls!  Who doesn’t love Egg Rolls?  I was very impressed with this recipe and it was a huge hit with Speed Racer.  I was so impressed in fact that I forgot to take pictures of it, oops!  Sorry, I was too busy diving into these suckers.  I found this recipe on Pinterest and it’s from www.cakeandallie.com.  She has tons of great recipes on there that sound delicious and are easy to follow.  I highly recommend you check it out!

Allie modified her recipe by using wonton wrappers instead of egg roll wrappers, to make a perfect appetizer!  I was using this recipe as a meal so I just went with the classic egg roll wrapper.  Now these little suckers can be difficult to find!  In my grocery store, Food City, they were over near the specialty salad stuff.  When in doubt, grab 10 store employees to help you find it, like I did.  I also halved this recipe, the original makes 24, I think I ended up with 9 and stuffed them pretty full.  You are going to be amazed how simple this is.  So on that note, let’s get to it!

Preheat oven to 425.

Begin by mixing in a large bowl: 1 can corn, 1 can black beans, 1 package spinach, thawed, 2 cups Mexican cheese, 1 can green chiles, 4 green onions, chopped, 1tsp ground cumin, 1/2 chili powder, 1 tsp salt,  and 1/2 tsp cayenne.  Mix all the gooey goodness together!  Note: If I was to do this again I would probably also add some chopped cilantro.  That’s the great part about this, you can easily modify it to your tastes.

Next, starting with a corner (so your egg roll wrapper makes a diamond shape) plop a big ol’ dollop of the above mixture onto your egg roll.  Start rolling your corner, as you roll tuck in the sides and continue rolling.  Once you get to the end wet your finger in some water and rub on egg roll to seal.

Line two cookie sheets with aluminum foil and spray lightly with cooking spray.  Add your egg rolls to the sheets as you make them.  When you have them all done spray the tops of the rolls with cooking spray.  Bake in the oven for 15 minutes ( I should have baked mine  little longer…) rotating them at least once.

While those are baking, mix up some avocado ranch for dipping sauce.  Take one avocado, dice and mash in a bowl.  Add 3/8 cup mayonnaise, 3/8 cup sour cream, 3 Tbs buttermilk, 1/2 Tbs olive oil, 1/2 Tbs lemon juice, 1/2 green onion, chopped ( I left this out, Speed Racer is not a big fan of onions), and 1/4 tsp salt.  Mix well!  If you want a smoother consistency you can blend in a blender.

Once your egg rolls are all nice a crispy take them out, dip them in your avocado ranch sauce and enjoy!!  One aspect I love about this recipe is that it is all veggie.  I find it hard sometimes to find good meatless recipes to mix up our week.  But this one is perfect.

Leave a Reply

