Cooking, Food, Knoxville, Life, Personal, Photography, Recipes, Uncategorized

Dish-o-the-Week: Oatmeal Casserole

Last Saturday I made this Oatmeal Casserole.  Now, I know I don’t normally think, “Wow Oatmeal Casserole, my favorite!!!”  I don’t normally put the words OATMEAL and CASSEROLE in the same sentence to be honest.  But this recipe looked so yummy I just couldn’t resist trying it out.

I originally got this recipe via Pinterest from inspired taste check them out for the full recipe!  After it was all said and done, I have to admit, I was a little disappointed.  Both Speed Racer and I agreed that it was missing something.  Now, I did not add the orange zest or the Chinses five spice, so that could have been it.  Speed Racer suggested perhaps adding butterscotch chips next time, so that might be an option.

Here is what I did.

  • 2 cups old fashioned rolled oats
  • 1/3 cup light brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup walnut pieces, chopped (as a side note I think walnuts sometimes make things taste weird, maybe next time pecans?)
  • 1 cup sliced strawberries
  • 1/3 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 2 cups milk
  • 1 large egg
  • 3 tablespoons butter, melted
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1 ripe banana, peeled, 1/2-inch slices

Preheat oven to 375 and spray your baking dish. I used 91/2 by 11.  Mix together the oats, sugar, baking powder, salt, half the walnuts, half the strawberries and half the chocolate (don’t be ashamed if you eat some of the chocolate morsels before they get to the bowl, you’re only human).  In another bowl, whisk together the milk, egg, butter and vanilla extract.  Add the oat mixture to the baking dish.  Arrange the remaining strawberries, walnuts, and chocolate on top into a beautiful mural representing your interpretation of “nature.”  I mean, if you want.  Add the banana slices and then pour the milk mixture over everything.  Shimmy and shake to your favorite song while you shimmy the dish to get the milk mixture into every little inch.  Bake for 30-40 minutes until it is golden brown and tasty.  A word of caution: the texture is way different than normal oatmeal, so that may throw you off at first.  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

