Beauty, Immediate Family, Landscape, Life, Love, Mountains, Nature, Personal, Photography, Travel, Uncategorized

New River Trail

Barn off the New River TrailEarlier in October I had the pleasure of going on a bike trail with my Aunt and Uncle for the weekend.  I thought it would be a great opportunity to hang out with them, get some pictures, enjoy the fresh air, and maybe get a little exercise.  Joke was on me about the exercise as you will see…

Tunnel on the New River Trail

The first day we set out it was cold and misty.  We probably got on the trail around 9:30 once we drove the car to trail head.  We bundled up and headed off though.  There were a couple things that through us off right from the get go.  First, the bike I had didn’t have a place to attach saddle bags so I was carrying my camera in a pack on my back.  This soon became very heavy.  Second, my Aunt and Uncle forgot their water bottles in the car.  Not a big deal right?  This is a well maintained trail with lots of stops and places along the way.  There is bound to be water somewhere.  Well yes, at the end.

I also made the rookie move of not training for this little excursion.  I let work and life get in the way and thought, I’m a pretty fit person, won’t be a problem.  And in all honesty, I did just fine with the cardio and my muscles were tired but not giving out.  However, my tush, seat, dairy air, rear end, gluteus maximus will probably never forgive me.  Ever.  EVER.  Okay, well not for a long time.  All and all the first day we did 42 miles on the bike.

KittyMy Aunt had a flat so we stopped and changed it out with the help of this little guy.  He was very into helping us….helping us pet him and love on him.  But we got it straight, and were back on the road.  Needless to say, the first night I was exhausted.  I could barely sit down and I’m pretty sure I ate a whole pig at the barbeque place we went to.  I deserved that pig.

Cliff Face

Day two was much calmer.  We did about 24 miles which seemed like a breeze compared to the day before.  I did not fall into an exhausted sleep at lunch but managed to actually hold a conversation.  With all my drama and grumbling aside, I had a spectacular time with my Aunt and Uncle.  We couldn’t have asked for better weather and the New River Trail was absolutely gorgeous.  Hopefully we’ll be able to do another trail next year, but next year I will actually train.  Until then, I’m just going to have to sit on some pillows.

Waterfall

Train Trestle

Spiderweb

River Reflection

Fall Color

Bridge

Barn

Bikers

One thought on “New River Trail

Leave a Reply

