Cooking, Food, Home, Knoxville, Life, Love, Personal, Photography, Recipes

Dish-o-the-Week: Sausage-Tortellini Soup

What could be better than soup that has all my favorite elements of pasta?  It actually CONTAINS pasta.  It truly couldn’t get any better.  As promised this is one of the recipes from John XXIII University Parish’s cookbook and it’s phenomenal.

This recipe is in the cookbook by Kathie Schmit. I changed just a few things here and there depending on what I had in the cabinets.  I love this recipe because it’s quick and easy, and that’s definitely what I want after work.

So, you will need:
1 lb Italian sausage (I used hot)
1 lg. onion, chopped
1 garlic clove, pressed
3 (14.5 oz) cans beef broth
2 (14.5 oz) cans diced tomatoes, undrained (I used 1 can regular, 1 can fire roasted)
1 (8 oz) can tomato sauce (I used one small can of tomato paste because I didn’t have the sauce)
1 c. red wine (didn’t use this because I didn’t have any!)
2 carrots
1 T. sugar
2 tsp dried Italian seasoning (I added a whole packet of the kind you use to make your own Italian dressing)
2 sm zucchini
1 (9 oz) pkg refrigerated cheese-filled tortellini
1/2 c shredded Parmesan cheese

Take the sausage out of its casings and cook the sausage, onion and garlic in a Dutch oven over medium-high heat, stirring until sausage is browned.  Drain and return to pan.  Stir in broth (I used bullion cubes and water) and next 6 ingredients.  Bring to a boil.  Simmer for 30 minutes and skim off fat.  Now for the best part!  Add zucchini and tortellini and simmer for about 10 minutes.  Granted I got a little carried away with the tortellini, SO, I had to had a little chicken broth to make it more soupy.  Serve in deep delicious bowls so you can have your fill and sprinkle with cheese.  Delicious!  Note: this makes about 10 cups so you can eat on it for the whole week.  Enjoy!

One thought on “Dish-o-the-Week: Sausage-Tortellini Soup

Leave a Reply

