Cooking, Food, Home, Knoxville, Life, Love, Personal, Photography, Recipes, Uncategorized

Dish-o-the-Week: Maple-Chili Glazed Pork Medallions

Hungry?  Good.  I’ve got a delicious Maple-Chili Glazed Pork Medallions recipe from http://www.eatingwell.com.   I love the combination of the warmth from the chili powder and the sweetness from the maple syrup.  This recipe is sure to make your mouth water.

For my side dish I broiled sweet potato chunks.  This is a recipe that Speed Racer’s Aunt serves a lot and I love it.  However, mine did not quite turn out as well as hers.  But I’ll share with you what I did, and we’ll both just have to keep perfecting it together.  So first peel, and cut up your sweet potatoes.

In a large baggie, add the sweet potato, oil, salt, and some cayenne.  I added a little cinnamon as well because I thought it might add a little something to the dish.  You could also probably do just sugar and cinnamon and that would be delicious.  Just depends what kind of flavor you’re going for.

Move all the ingredients around in the bag until everything is well coated.  Put aluminum foil on a baking sheet, and spread the chunks out evenly.  I set my oven at 400 degrees, and would occasionally rotate the potatoes.  I just did this until they looked brown and yummy and were nice and squishy in the middle.  I shall call him Squishy and he shall be mine and he shall be my Squishy….finding nemo anyone? anyone?

Moving on…..

My pork tenderloins ended up not really being “medallions” per say….but strips, so if you want to do strips, or medallions, or stars, you do whatever floats your boat.  Yeah!  Anywho, so first cut your tenderloin into the shape of your choosing.

Then you sprinkle each side of the tenderloin with 1tsp chili powder, 1/2 tsp salt, and 1/8 tsp (chipotle) but I used cayenne.

Like so.

Put 2 tsp oil in pan and fry each side until golden.

Add1/4 cup apple cider, 1 tbsp maple syrup, and 1 tsp cider vinegar to pork tenderloins.  Boil and then reduce heat to simmer until mixture becomes a thick glaze.  Side NOTE!  This glaze is superb and heavenly, I want more of it.  So, in hindsight I think you would get more of the glaze flavor in the pork tenderloins if you soaked them in the sauce for awhile.  I have not tried this so it could be disastrous but I just wanted a lot more of that flavor than I got.

Serve with a little extra glaze on top!  Annnnd enjoy!

4 thoughts on “Dish-o-the-Week: Maple-Chili Glazed Pork Medallions

  1. We did the pork a few days ago too!!! Everyone (Moanna included) loved it. I ended up doubling the glaze part of the recipe. It took longer to cook, but there was plenty of the juicy goodness.

  2. Looks delish!

    the sweet potato thing is my go-to for the winter time except I’m super lazy and just use oil and salt – but its tasty : )

Leave a Reply

